Boy I have. I have glanced at this blog every day and nothing has happened. I guess I imagined the words just jumping on to this page and I wouldn't have to do a thing. And is it not enough that I have Face Book, Twitter and even my own Family driven web site to verbalize my thoughts? And now a blog? And who came up with the word Blog anyway? To Blog.....I'm Blogging....Do you Blog? What should I Blog about?
Well, I will tell you.
Now, I won’t discuss the changing weather, the dysfunction that is a Thanksgiving gathering, Or even The Rangers loosing their first ever World Series. I was thinking more along the lines of, "The greatness that is lost in this world."
It's funny how, as a society, we are always for progression, yet we yearn for a simpler time. When phone lines never had call waiting, or when there was only four channels on television. And remember when you left the house and no one worried about contacting you? You went somewhere, you spent time at that place, you came home, and maybe someone asked where you went, but only out of curiosity. Now we are all fully traceable.
“Why didn't you answer your cell? I text-ed you!. Did you get my email?”
And remember when we didn't want everyone to know our business? Now we insist on posting our every move for the entire public to view. "I'm doing the dishes" or "I am in a complete state of relaxation on the couch” which is like saying, "I want you to know, something...anything...about me, and I know that you may not want to know, something, anything about me, but I fully expect it to be worth your wait, as well as earth shattering to you!" As much as we want our own privacy in this world, we continue to use every outlet we can, to be as open as we can, and we don't care who knows it.
Knowing what everyone is doing, can be just as hazardous. Like our own lives are not enough, we have to be a part of everyone else’s?
We must care a little bit if we continue with our voyeurism ...I think this year alone, by butting into other people's business on Face book and Twitter, I have planned two weddings, had a baby, attended my share of homecomings, Proms, Graduations, and other people’s family birthday's, all without really trying. Is that good? I don’t know. Is that bad? I don’t know.
Years ago, I remember walking everywhere. Getting a busy signal on the phone when someone was actually busy. Laying in front of the console TV so you could reach the channels. Now we can’t get somewhere quick enough, we text someone if they don’t answer, and we are frustrated if our remote won’t work, or can’t be found.
There used to me real mail, homemade meals, hardly any traffic and elevator men. Hats and gloves for women, listening to radio and men dressed in suits and hats...(And not just on holidays!)
For me, it is the Avocado colored appliances in the kitchen, I miss. Or the yellow rotary phone with the cord you can stretch for miles. The reel to reel stereos and comfortable shag carpeting that we could make imprints in, with our lazy bodies. I yearn for turn tables and vinyl. Wall posters of nature and simplicity. Why? Because it was just that. Simplicity.
So as we make our way thru our days and nights, texting, emailing, face booking, tweeting, virtual farming…watching TV on our computers, on our phones, in our vehicles and in every room of the house, let us try and remember what was good.
Yes we have come a long way. And Today, well today I will admit things are good, but all those things from years past, those things weren’t just good, they were great.
Tuesday, November 2, 2010
Tuesday, August 31, 2010
Woe as me
Oh what we would do for food....I often wonder. Part time job? Selling your belongings? Your "time"...your blood?
Which may not even be possible any more. Well, one thing I did do.....I have officially become a lab rat. I tested a facial cream and for it, got paid $100...cash! But before I even got the green in my hand, I was thinking about dinner. What was I going to buy with my stockpile? A hundred taco's? A week's worth of buffet's? Groceries? God forbid I actually put the cash away.
And why do I feel like I have to spend it all on food? $100 doesn't go as far as it used to you know.
(Man when did I get to the age where I actually identify with that?)
How long could I really make the money last? Especially when one has to buy gas or batteries for the remote? Then I think it could be worse. I could have 5 kids to support on just the hundred dollars. I could not have a car....not have A/C in the house that holds a roof over my head.....I could be working 2 jobs instead of getting to sit on the couch watching reruns of that 70's show or catching up on TIVO.
I saw this movie once where the family only had enough food for each day, so they kept a pad lock on the fridge. And here I won't even look in the direction of my can of peas or top ramen noodles.
So here it is a week before payday, and I am actually worried about stretching a cool hundo....
Oh well. At least the animals can sleep easy on a full belly tonight.
Oh yeah did I mention I do have mouths to feed? 3 smalls and a large.
Come to think of it, their belly's have never been nothing but full. And you know, I don't think I have really ever been starving.
Which may not even be possible any more. Well, one thing I did do.....I have officially become a lab rat. I tested a facial cream and for it, got paid $100...cash! But before I even got the green in my hand, I was thinking about dinner. What was I going to buy with my stockpile? A hundred taco's? A week's worth of buffet's? Groceries? God forbid I actually put the cash away.
And why do I feel like I have to spend it all on food? $100 doesn't go as far as it used to you know.
(Man when did I get to the age where I actually identify with that?)
How long could I really make the money last? Especially when one has to buy gas or batteries for the remote? Then I think it could be worse. I could have 5 kids to support on just the hundred dollars. I could not have a car....not have A/C in the house that holds a roof over my head.....I could be working 2 jobs instead of getting to sit on the couch watching reruns of that 70's show or catching up on TIVO.
I saw this movie once where the family only had enough food for each day, so they kept a pad lock on the fridge. And here I won't even look in the direction of my can of peas or top ramen noodles.
So here it is a week before payday, and I am actually worried about stretching a cool hundo....
Oh well. At least the animals can sleep easy on a full belly tonight.
Oh yeah did I mention I do have mouths to feed? 3 smalls and a large.
Come to think of it, their belly's have never been nothing but full. And you know, I don't think I have really ever been starving.
Friday, August 27, 2010
Ever been somewhere you wish you weren't?
Like work...On a Friday night....by yourself. Normally I would amuse my self with nail polish and facebook, but all I can think of is the drive home and how the couch is calling my name. I have everything at my disposal you know. Tunes, a computer, my cell phone....food. I could live here! I mean they have showers. and I have a change of clothes. For some reason I insist on living in my cubical. I even have holiday decor and vitamin supplements and photos of family and communication......Its like the house. But with out all the dog hair every where. I do think I need a more exciting lifestyle. I have a cousin studying abroad in Denmark...Another cousin going to a University 2000 miles away. My mom even travels more then me. She is in Japan at least once a week. I do travel. Vegas, California, NYC.....why does it never seem like enough?
I thought about writing a book...and a screen play. I have family on TV and in the movies and they can't even drive yet. So why can't I do it? Well....this blog is my first step. And nope, not bored yet....Next I think I will get a passport..... and then, I will go from there.
I thought about writing a book...and a screen play. I have family on TV and in the movies and they can't even drive yet. So why can't I do it? Well....this blog is my first step. And nope, not bored yet....Next I think I will get a passport..... and then, I will go from there.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)